I love to tell stories.  

Make believe is always fun, but my favourite type of story is one that is true. The place we live, the everyday things that happen to us, the choices we make, the people we meet – these are all ingredients to a great story.  Sometimes we get so caught up with our lives, that we forget to look at the beautiful story that is being written. When asked about our day, we simply reply “same old, same old.”

But could it be that there is more?

Perhaps there is something happening between the lines?  A recurring theme that pops up throughout our lives. A dream we have to live “happily ever after” or to find out what our “once upon a time” was.

I have been reminded many times to look at the big picture.  To step back and see what else is going on in and around me.  There is often a lot more to our story than what we see.

Over the next six months I will be sharing a part of my story.  This chapter takes place in Bucharest, Romania, in a lemon lime coloured home, with a young married couple expecting their first child.  

Each person takes interest in a different part of a story.  Some want to bury themselves in the setting described by the author, others want to fight through the climactic scenes described and come out victorious.  And then there are those few who love to sneak a peak at the last page…curious to see how it all ends, wondering, “Will they live happily ever after?”  These are all great parts of a story, but my favourite part of every story is the characters we meet.  The way one story leads to the next.  The beautiful entangled mess of lives touching other lives.

My story here in Romania is a part of a bigger picture that I cannot yet see.  Although a part of me is anxious to skip ahead and look at the last page, I am enjoying the process…the daily turning of the page.


“The unfolding of your words gives light; it gives understanding to the simple.”

Psalm 119:130

